Changing user permissions

System Administrator Guide for Virtual Storage Platform E Series

Version
93-07-0x
Audience
anonymous
Part Number
MK-97HM85028-18

You can change user permissions by changing membership in the user group. A user can belong to multiple user groups.

For example, if you want to change the role of the user who manages security to the performance management role, add this user to the Storage Administrator (Performance Management) role group and then remove the user from the Security Administrator (View & Modify) role group.

  • You must have the Security Administrator (View & Modify) role to perform this task.
  • The user whose permissions you want to change must belong to at least one user group.
  • A user account can belong to up to 8 user groups.
  • A user group can contain a maximum of 20 user accounts, including the built-in user accounts.

Adding a user

  1. In the Device Manager - Storage Navigator Administration tree, select User Groups.
  2. On the User Groups tab, select the user group that has the role you want the user to have, and then add or remove users.
    To add users to the selected groups:
    1. Click Add Users.
    2. In the Add Users window, select a user and click Add.
    To remove users from the selected groups:
    1. In the Remove Users window, select one or more users.
    2. Click More Actions > Remove Users.
  3. Click Finish.
  4. In the Confirm window, check the settings. If the Task Name field is empty, enter a task name.
  5. Click Apply. The task is now registered. If you selected the Go to tasks window for status check box, the Tasks window opens to show the status of the task.