Changing advanced system settings

System Administrator Guide for VSP 5000 Series

Version
90-09-2x
Audience
anonymous
Part Number
MK-98RD9009-16

You can change alert display settings and data acquisition settings in advanced system settings.

  • You must have the Storage Administrator (Initial Configuration) role to perform this task.
  1. In the Device Manager - Storage Navigator main menu, click Settings > Environmental Settings > Edit Advanced System Settings.
  2. Select the desired advanced system settings, and then click Enable to enable the selected settings or Disable to disable the selected settings.
    Setting Description
    Hide alert information If you enable this setting, the Alert window in the Device Manager - Storage Navigator main window does not open.
    Refresh forcibly after Apply If you enable this advanced system setting, after settings changes are applied to the storage system, the configuration information for the storage system is always updated to the latest information.
    Disable data polling If you enable this advanced system setting, polling stops.
    Disable retry of data updating If you enable this advanced system setting, retry does not occur even if data cannot be acquired.
    Enable Storage Navigator 2 All Function If you enable this advanced system setting, the restrictions on login from Device Manager - Storage Navigator's login window are cleared, including the restrictions on the users who can log in and on the functions available after login. When enabling or disabling this advanced system setting, log in again.

    Switch the control of differential bitmaps of volumes used for TC/TCMF/UR/URMF/GAD pairs whose capacity is 4TB or less (for open volumes)/262,668Cyl or less (for MF volumes) at creation or resynchronization of pairs

    When enabled, for a TC, TCMF, UR, URMF, or GAD pair that uses an open volume (DP-VOL) with user capacity of 4,194,304 MB or less, or a mainframe volume with user capacity of 262,668 Cyl or less, the differential data management for the target volume is enabled by the hierarchical difference at new pair creation or pair resynchronization (hierarchical difference management).

    In addition, for a TC, TCMF, UR, URMF, or GAD pair that uses an open volume (DP-VOL) with user capacity exceeding 4,194,304 MB, or a mainframe volume with user capacity exceeding 262,668 Cyl, the differential data management for the target volume is enabled by the hierarchical difference at the new pair creation regardless of this setting.

    For details about this setting, see the Hitachi TrueCopy® User Guide, Hitachi Universal Replicator User Guide, or Global-Active Device User Guide.

    Switch the control of differential bitmaps of volumes used for TC/TCMF/UR/URMF/GAD pairs whose capacity is 4TB or less (for open volumes)/262,668Cyl or less (for MF volumes) at creation of pairs

    When enabled, for a TC, TCMF, UR, URMF, or GAD pair that uses an open volume (DP-VOL) with user capacity of 4,194,304 MB or less, or a mainframe volume with user capacity of 262,668 Cyl or less, the differential data management for the target volume is enabled by the hierarchical difference at new pair creation (hierarchical difference management).

    In addition, for a TC, TCMF, UR, URMF, or GAD pair that uses an open volume (DP-VOL) with user capacity exceeding 4,194,304 MB, or a mainframe volume with user capacity exceeding 262,668 Cyl, the differential data management for the target volume is enabled by the hierarchical difference at the new pair creation regardless of this setting.

    For details about this setting, see the Hitachi TrueCopy® User Guide, Hitachi Universal Replicator User Guide, or Global-Active Device User Guide.

    External Authentication Compatibility option If you enable this setting, the authentication method is switched from VSP 5000 series to VSP.
    Enable reboot of background service

    If you enable this setting, when either of the following values exceeds its threshold value, the background service process for managing configuration information is restarted. Enable this setting only when requested.

    • The amount of memory used in the background service process.
    • Time elapsed after the background service process is started.
    Notify an alert when tier relocation is suspended by system If you enable this setting, when tier relocation is suspended by the system, an alert is issued to users. For details about an alert (SIM) to be issued, see the Troubleshooting chapter of the Provisioning Guide for Open Systems or Provisioning Guide for Mainframe Systems.
    The consistency time of a Hitachi Universal Replicator software for Mainframe pair shows the time stamp of the data that has just been copied to a restored journal volume When enabled, the time included in the time stamp of the data that has just been copied to a restored journal volume shows the consistency time.
    After delta resync, the pair status remains COPY during journal data copy If you enable this setting, when a delta resync is performed in a 3DC multi-target configuration with TC and UR, the pair status remains COPY during journal data copy.
    One minute after remote path failure detection, the mirror is split If you enable this setting, when a remote path failure is detected, the mirror is split if the remote path is not restored within one minute after the detection.

    This setting is enabled only when After remote path failure detection, the mirror is split is enabled. When No. 16 is disabled, the mirror is not split even if a remote path failure is detected.

    After remote path failure detection, the mirror is split When enabled, after a remote path failure is detected, the mirror is split.
    The copy pace for mirror option (Medium) becomes one level faster When enabled, the pace for copying data during initial copy becomes one level faster when the copy pace for journal option is Medium. This setting can be used to make the initial copy operation in Medium speed mode perform faster.
    The copy pace for mirror option (Medium) becomes two levels faster When enabled, the pace for copying data during initial copy becomes two levels faster when the copy pace for journal option is Medium. This setting can be used to make the initial copy operation in Medium speed mode perform faster.
  3. Click Finish.
  4. In the confirmation window, check the settings and enter a task name in Task Name.
  5. Click Apply. The task is now registered. If the Go to tasks window for status check box is checked, the Tasks window opens to display the status of the task.
  6. After you have enabled or disabled the desired advanced system settings, log off Device Manager - Storage Navigator and then log in again.