Snapshot Retention

Snapshot Administration Guide for Hitachi NAS Platform

Version
15.1.x
Audience
anonymous
Part Number
MK-92HNAS011-29
Note: this feature is only supported on Hitachi NAS 5000 Series and later platforms.
Snapshot retention allows protecting a snapshot from accidental or malicious deletion. It is configured as a snapshot retention interval, which is applied from the snapshot creation time, during which a snapshot cannot be deleted. A request to delete a retained snapshot will still be accepted but the snapshot will only be deleted when its retention period is expired.
CAUTION:
It is only possible to cancel a scheduled deletion of a retained snapshot from CLI.

Snapshot retention can only be configured on manually created snapshots and snapshots created by a rule. All other types of snapshots, for example, snapshots taken for backup or by object replication, are not subject to retention.

Snapshot retention can be configured on three levels:
  • File system default - This is applied to all new snapshots of the file system.
  • Snapshot rule - This overrides the file system default, if configured, and is applied to all new snapshots taken by this snapshot rule.
  • Snapshot - This overrides the file system default, if configured, and is applied to the snapshot being taken.
CAUTION:
Once set, the snapshot retention interval cannot be unset or decreased without contacting Hitachi Vantara Support.