Managing email alerts and profiles

Server and Cluster Administration Guide for Hitachi NAS Platform

Version
15.1.x
Audience
anonymous
Part Number
MK-92HNAS010-35
The Email Alerts Setup page can be used to delete a profile or modify its properties.
  1. Navigate to Home > Status & Monitoring > Email Alerts Setup, select a profile, and click details to display the SMTP Email Profile page.


    Field/Item Description
    Profile Name Select a name for the profile being created.
    Enabled Select the check box to enable the profile, or leave it inactive.
    Uuencode Diagnostic Emails Select this check box to uuencode email attachments. By uuencoding the message, any virus scanning software at the recipient’s site will be bypassed.
    Send HTML Emails Select this check box to receive emails in HTML format. HTML emails are easier to read compared to plain text mails, and this provides easy access to the web UI, because the server name in the email is clickable.
    Send Empty Emails By default, the Send Empty Emails check box is selected. Empty summary emails will be sent to the specified recipient when this is selected. To avoid sending empty summarized emails, clear the check box.
    Disclose Email Details to the recipient By default, the Disclose Email details to the recipient check box is selected. Detailed emails containing restricted or confidential information (account names, IP addresses, portions of user data, an so forth) will be sent to the specified recipient. To avoid sending detailed emails, clear the check box.
    Send a Daily Status Email By default, the Send a Daily Status Email check box is selected. Detailed emails containing logs of server performance and battery health, descriptive information regarding the health of the server and storage subsystem, and the current space utilization of the file systems will be sent to the specified recipient. To avoid sending daily status emails, clear the check box.
    Ignore NDMP events in immediate emails Select this check box to prevent emails from being sent when events are generated by the NDMP backup system.
    Exclude Attachments in Daily Summary Emails Select this check box to prevent attachments from being sent when daily summary emails are sent.
    Max. Email Length Limit the size of the email by specifying the maximum number of bytes it can contain. It must be stated numerically, such as: 32768.
    When to Send Emails
    Severe/Warning/Information Select the preferred option for the chosen recipient from the menu:
    • Immediately
    • Summary
    • Never
    Note: Severe alerts include any Critical events.
    SMU-Specific Settings
    Use this profile as the SMU’s profile Select the check box to use this profile as the SMU's profile.
    Send Email From For emails that will be sent by this SMU, enter the address that you want listed as the sender's email address. Note that this field is not available for embedded SMUs.
    Enable Monthly Call Home Emails Select the check box to enable monthly call home emails. Clear the check box if you do not to receive monthly call home emails.
    Send Summaries At Set the time when summary emails should be sent. Set the exact time (hh:mm) in a 24-hour format (for example, 2 PM will be set as 14:00). A second summary can also be sent by entering a time in the second box.
    Email Intro Text Custom text to add to the body of the email. You can use this text field to add information or comments to the body of the email. If you are sending HTML emails, you can add basic HTML formatting (italics, bold, new lines and paragraphs, and so on) to the email, and the additional text will be displayed according to the formatting you entered.
    Recipients Displays the current recipient's email address.
    Add Recipient Enter the email address of the recipient about to be added to the profile. Click Add to add the specified recipient to the current profile. Click X to delete the selected recipient from the current profile.
  2. Modify the profile by selecting the desired alert options from the menus and check boxes.
  3. Verify your settings, and click OK to save, or cancel to decline.