License types

Server and Cluster Administration Guide for Hitachi NAS Platform

Part Number

Licenses can be grouped into three types:

  • Boolean licenses simply enable features/protocols, and when the license is installed the feature/protocol is enabled (for example external volume links, SMB, or NFS). These licenses operate in a boolean fashion; if the license is present the feature/function is enabled, if not present, the feature/function is disabled.
  • Limit-based licenses specify a limit that cannot be exceeded. These licenses limit your system to a certain total numerical upper limit of the licensed feature/function. For example, the EVS (virtual server) license is a limit-based license.

    Limit-based licenses are not cumulative. For example, if your existing cluster has an EVS license for up to nine EVSs, and you install another EVS license for up to eight EVSs, you still cannot have more than nine EVSs (the highest licensed amount). For more information, contact your support representative.

    Note: A cluster license is a special kind of limit-based license. When a node joins an existing cluster, its cluster license is transferred to the cluster (if necessary).
  • Cumulative licenses. Only the Universal NAS Virtual Capacity (UNVC)s license is cumulative. For example, if you have one UNVC license for 10 terabytes and another UNVC license for 10 terabytes, your system can manage up to 20 terabytes.

If a node is removed from a cluster, you must restore its license keys for it to function properly as a standalone server. You should retain the licensing information, in case a node needs to be removed from the cluster.

Note: License keys that have been purchased do not expire. Trial licenses, which enable features for use on a trial basis, have a predefined expiration date. Five days before the expiration of a trial license, the server's event log begins receiving a daily warning event, indicating imminent expiration; then, two days before expiration, the warning events escalate to "severe." When a trial license has expired, the features that enabled by the license become disabled.

The following table lists all services that can be licensed:

Service Description
CIFS Common Internet File System. This is a message format used by Windows and MS-DOS to share files, directories, and devices. Also refers to SMB.
Cluster Clustering. Enables the clustering of up to X nodes. The maximum number of nodes supported in a cluster depends on the series of server used as nodes of the cluster.
Note: The NAS module allows a maximum of two nodes. The unit itself contains the two nodes. No licensing is required for clusters on this unit.
CNS Cluster Name Space. Creates a virtual name space through which multiple file systems can be made accessible using a single mount point. If the EVS Security license is also installed, you can also create individual EVS Name Spaces.
Premium Deduplication Enables the use of Premium Deduplication, a licensed feature with a four SHA-256 engines, capable of indexing data at a rate of up to 450 MB per second.
Note: A Base Deduplication license is required to enable the deduplication feature. The base dedupe feature is a single SHA-256 engine (capable of indexing data at a rate of up to 120 MB per second).
DM License for Data Migrator, which is required for Classic Data Migrator and for Data Migrator to the Cloud. Data Migrator without XVL allows classic data migration to internal targets. Data Migrator with XVL allows external Classic data migration, that is to HCP (the classic way), and to NFS servers. Data Migrator with XVL allows Data Migrator to the Cloud for any cloud provider. Refer to the XVL license description in this table.
EVS Enables up to X Virtual Servers (EVSs).
EVS Security EVS Security. Allows EVS to have their own settings independent of other EVSs and independent of the whole cluster.
FileClone Enables the Writable file clone feature. Refer to the File Services Administration Guide for more information.
FSR File System Rollback. A tool for restoring a file system to the state of its last successful replication.
FSRS File System Recovery from Snapshot. A tool for rolling back one or more files in a file system to a previous version without actually copying the data from a snapshot.
iSCSI Internet Small Computer System Interface. This license enables iSCSI Initiators to communicate at block level with the servers' iSCSI targets.
Model Type ModelType. This license upgrades from NAS Platform 4060 to NAS Platform 4080 or from NAS Platform 5200 to NAS Platform 5300.
Note: After adding the ModelType license, you must restart the server/cluster to make the model change become effective.
NFS Network File System. This is a file system that enables users of UNIX workstations (including Windows NT systems running an NFS emulation program) to access remote files and directories on a network as if they were local.
Read Cache Cluster Read Caching. Enables Read Caching service, which allows one cached read-only file system per EVS.
Note: After adding the Read Cache license, you must restart the server/cluster before you can use the read cache.
Replication Replication. Enables replication to external servers (other storage servers, clusters, or an NFS server).

This license is required to enable any form of replication outside the server or cluster, including accelerated data copy (ADC). This means that, without a replication license, you can use replication within a server/cluster (you can replicate within an EVS or to a different EVS hosted by the same server/cluster), but you cannot replicate to an external server/cluster.

Note: The replication license is enforced at the replication source. However, in order to reverse a replication, the source and the target must each have a replication license.
SFM Server Farm Migration of Virtual Servers. Enables migration of Virtual Servers (EVSs) between servers in a Server Farm.
Universal NAS Virtual Capacity (UNVC) (Terabytes) License for <n> TB of virtualization storage. Range is from 1 to 32767 TB of storage, or the value "Max". Max is represented with the numeric value of 32768, but it is to be interpreted as whatever maximum value the HNAS supports. This license affects the virtualization of third-party NAS storage.
XVL External Volume Links. License for XVL. This is cross volume links outside of an EVS, potentially to a third-party machine such as HCP (also known as HCAP) or to an NFS server. Refer to the DM license description in this table for more information.