How a transfer of primary access moves CNS links

Replication and Disaster Recovery Administration Guide for Hitachi NAS Platform

Version
15.1.x
Audience
anonymous
Part Number
MK-92HNAS009-29

Using the diagram below as a sample file system:

How CNS links are moved during a transfer of primary access

When replicating the file system path beginning at “D,” CNS links are transferred as follows:
  • If the file system is linked to the CNS tree at “A” or “B,” the CNS link is not moved and is listed in the replication report as an error. The CNS link is not moved because doing so would deny access to the file system at point “E.”
    Note: In this situation, users will be able to access the “old” data after the replication and transfer of primary access are complete. After a successful transfer of primary access, the original source data should either be removed or made inaccessible by network clients (permissions should be changed).
  • If the replication is within the cluster, and the file system is linked to the CNS tree at “D” or below, then the CNS link is moved and is listed in the replication report as having been successfully moved.
  • If the file system is linked to the CNS tree at “C” or “E,” the CNS link is not moved and it is not listed in the replication report, because it is not relevant to the path being replicated.