Configuring NDMP snapshot options

Backup Administration Guide for Hitachi NAS Platform

Version
15.1.x
Audience
anonymous
Part Number
MK-92HNAS007-29
To configure NDMP snapshot options:
  1. Navigate to Home > Data Protection > NDMP History and Snapshots.


    Field/Item Description
    clear All When necessary, you can clear the records of completed tape-based backups and either scripted or command line-based incremental accelerated data copies (ADCs). Clearing the history does not affect replication operations (replication history is managed separately) or data migration operations (migration is not an incremental operation). When performing incremental backups, the server uses the records of old backups to determine the date and time after which it must back up modified files. If you have lost a backup for any reason, you can clear the records, which forces the next backup to be a full backup instead of an incremental backup.
    Note: To force a full backup for replication, delete the snapshot that was automatically created at the start of the last replication
    Automated Snapshot Use Do not automatically create snapshots, but backup from the live file system - This option causes a backup to be performed from the live file system (no snapshot is taken).

    Automatically create snapshots (recommended) - This option causes a snapshot to be taken, then the backup is performed from that snapshot. Note that this option does not affect replication snapshot usage.

    Note: If a backup path explicitly contains a snapshot reference, the system does not take a new snapshot, regardless of this setting.
    Automated Snapshot Deletion By default, NDMP keeps the snapshot to make incremental backups more accurate. In the Automated Snapshot Deletion section, select whether to delete the snapshot:
    • Delete snapshot after use deletes an automatic snapshot after completion of the backup for which it was taken. To prevent accumulation of unneeded snapshots, select this option for full backups or if the file system is changing very rapidly.
    • Delete snapshot after next backup deletes an automatic snapshot after it has been used as the basis of a new incremental backup. With an exception for full backups, this option supports “incremental” backup schedules based on the immediately preceding backup.
    • Delete snapshot when obsolete deletes an automatic snapshot upon next backup at the same level. For example, a snapshot taken for a full backup will only be deleted when the next full backup is completed. This option supports “differential” backup schedules based on a common base backup.
      Note: Snapshots initiated by the Microsoft Volume Shadow Copy Service (VSS) may not be deleted by rule. These snapshots should be managed through the application that requested the snapshot. You can, however, delete these snapshots through the Snapshots page.
    Automated Snapshot Retention Determines number of days (1 to 80) to keep snapshots before auto-deletion.
    Usually, the system deletes automatically created snapshots according to the rule selected in the previous step; however, after a sequence of backups using automatically created snapshots is stopped, snapshots may be left over. The maximum retention time provides a way of tidying up in these circumstances.
    Note: This setting applies to snapshots automatically taken by replications. Set the retention time to be long enough to make sure that a snapshot from a replication copy is not deleted until after the next successful copy is complete. This means that the maximum time set here must be longer than the time taken to run two replication copies, including the interval between the replication copies and the time required to make the copies.
  2. Click Apply to save your changes.