Server components

NAS Platform and Unified Storage Series 4000 Hardware Reference

Part Number

The Series 4000 server comes in four models: Hitachi NAS Platform 4040, Hitachi NAS Platform 4060, Hitachi NAS Platform 4080, and Hitachi NAS Platform 4100.

Physically, models HNAS 4060 and HNAS 4080 are identical. To upgrade a model HNAS 4060 to a model HNAS 4080 requires the addition of a software license. From outside of the chassis, model HNAS 4100 is identical to the other models--it shares the same ports and connectivity.

All server models have a chassis that is 3U (5.25 inches) high, 480 millimeters (19 inches) wide, rack mountable, and a maximum of 686 millimeters (27 inches) deep, excluding the bezel. The chassis contains:
  • Front bezel
  • MMB (Main Motherboard)
  • MFB (Main FPGA Board)
    • Model 4040 uses an MFB
    • Models 4060 and 4080 use an MFB2
    • Model 4100 uses an MFB2E
  • Hot-swappable fan assemblies
    • Model 4040 has two fans
    • Models 4060, 4080, and 4100 have dual fans
  • Dual power supplies
  • NVRAM backup battery pack
  • Dual 2.5 inch disk drives

If there is an issue with the motherboard (MMB) or field programmable gate array (MFB), the server must be returned for repair. MMBs are not field replaceable and, typically, MFBs are not field replaceable). Many of the other components can be replaced in the field, and some are hot-swappable (they can be changed without shutting down the server). Field replaceable units (FRUs) include power supplies, an NVRAM backup battery pack, fan assemblies, and disk drives.