Deleting a TrueCopy for Mainframe pair removes the TCz relationship and does not affect the volumes or their data. You should delete a TrueCopy for Mainframe pair under the following circumstances:
- When you no longer need a synchronous remote copy of the P-VOL data, delete the pair from the primary storage system.
- When you are recovering data from a disaster, delete the pair from the secondary storage system.
Delete a pair from the secondary storage system only for disaster recovery purposes. When you do this, the secondary storage system changes the S-VOL pair status to Simplex, and the primary storage system detects the change in S-VOL status and then changes the P-VOL status to Suspend (Delete Pair to RCU.
To restart a pair that was deleted from the secondary storage system, you must delete the pair from the primary storage system and then re-create the pair from the primary storage system.
When you delete a TrueCopy for Mainframe pair:
- All update operations are stopped.
- The pair status for the P-VOL and S-VOL changes to Simplex.
- The primary storage system continues to accept write I/Os to the former P-VOL but does not keep track of the updates.
Note: When you delete a pair from the secondary storage system, make sure that the S-VOL and P-VOL are identical, including the volume labels. Take all necessary steps to prevent system problems due to duplicate volumes.