Problems may occur when you power off the storage system during Compatible FlashCopy® operations, and then power on the storage system later, depending on the status of the shared memory when power is restored to the storage system.
Data in shared memory is restored
The state of all Compatible FlashCopy® relationships is fully restored upon power up. All relationships in COPY mode automatically restart their background copy operations. All relationships that are in COPY mode automatically restart their background copy when power is restored to the storage system.
Data in shared memory is not restored
Relationships that were not withdrawn before powering off will have their T-VOLs blocked and inaccessible from host when power is restored. The T-VOLs are blocked to prevent access to inconsistent data. To restore the T-VOLs to normal status, the LDEVs must be forcibly restored.
If the T-VOL is an external volume, the storage system might start normally and the T-VOL might not be blocked, even when data in shared memory is lost. However, even if the storage system starts normally, it is likely that the data on the T-VOL is inconsistent. Therefore, delete the data on the T-VOL or initialize the T-VOL.