The storage system supports a maximum of 20 user accounts, including the built-in user accounts. To prevent unauthorized access to the storage system, users must change their password immediately after logging in for the first time.
Before adding users, make sure the user account security policies have been configured. When you add a new user, you assign the new user to the user groups that have the desired permissions. You can use one of the built-in user groups or a custom user group.
When you add users, each user is assigned a user ID and an initial password. When a user logs in for the first time using their initial password, the user must change their password to prevent unauthorized access to the storage system, and the user will not be able to perform any operations until they change their password. If the login fails three times in succession, the account is locked for 60 seconds.
You can change user permissions by changing membership in the user groups. Users can belong to multiple user groups. For example, if you want to change the role of the user who manages security to the performance management role, add the user to the Storage Administrator (Performance Management) group and then remove the user from the Security Administrator (View & Modify) group.
If desired, you can change the user session timeout period for maintenance utility and VSP One Block Administrator users. The options are 60 minutes (default), 90 minutes, and 120 minutes. This session timeout period does not apply to embedded CCI, CCI, or REST API sessions.
When the user account security policies are not configured, or when Lock Account is specified for the lockout mode, the user account is automatically locked when the maximum number of login attempts has been exceeded. The account is locked for 60 seconds. If necessary, you can release the locked status before the lock times out.
You can perform user account operations using the following user interfaces:
- Maintenance utility
- REST API
- To prevent unauthorized access to the functions available to service representatives, assign the "Support Personnel (Vendor Only)" role only to authorized service personnel.
- When using management software (for example, Ops Center), you might need to change the password information registered in the software. For details, see the documentation for the software product.
- If the Security Administrator changes the password of a user who is currently logged in, the user must log out and then log back in using the new password to continue operations.
- If the Security Administrator changes the user account of the maintenance personnel, notify the maintenance personnel of the change in the account information. If no contact is made, the maintenance personnel might not be able to log in and perform maintenance operations.
If a password validity period is set, make sure to change it periodically to prevent the maintenance account from being locked.
- The restrictions on the characters in a password differ depending on the management tool. If you use multiple management tools, make sure the password is supported by each of the management tools.