Deleting volumes associated with GAD

Virtual Storage Platform One Block Administrator User Guide for VSP One Block 85

Version
A0-05-4x
10.5.x
Audience
anonymous
Part Number
MK-26VSP1B025-02
ft:lastEdition
2026-06-22

You can delete volumes that were previously used as global active device (GAD) volumes.

When you delete a volume that uses auto virtualization mode, the virtual information is reset as part of the deletion process.

Warning:
  • If a volume with the same virtual information exists on another storage system and that virtual information matches the real information of the volume to be deleted, deleting the volume might cause data loss or data inconsistency.
  • For volumes that use manual virtualization mode, the virtual information is not reset when the volume is deleted. To reset virtual information for volumes in manual mode, see the Global-Active Device User Guide.
  • Delete the GAD pair before deleting any volume associated with GAD.
  • Unassign the volume from the server before deleting it.
  • Verify that no other storage system contains a volume with the same virtual information by using the CCI raidcom command.
  1. From the navigation tree, select Storage > Volumes.
  2. From the volume inventory, select the volume that was previously used as a GAD volume.
  3. Click Delete Volumes.
  4. In the Delete Volumes dialog box, confirm the list of selected volumes.
  5. In the confirmation dialog box, click Submit to confirm.