Retention terms

Content Platform Tenant Management Help

Version
9.7.x
File Size
4269 KB
Audience
anonymous
Part Number
MK-95HCPH002-19
Default retention setting
In HCP retention mode, each bucket in HCP has a default retention setting. This is the setting that is applied to objects when they are first stored in the bucket. When you create a bucket, its default retention setting is to allow deletion at any time.
S3 Object Lock supports default retention setting.
Hold
Objects can be placed on hold in HCP retention mode. An object on hold cannot be deleted. You can use the S3 compatible API to place an object on hold or release an object from hold.
S3 Object Lock supports placing objects on hold.
Labeled hold
An object can also be placed on one or more labeled holds in HCP retention mode. A labeled hold is a named retention hold that has a unique identifier. An object can have both a single, unlabeled hold and one or more labeled holds at the same time.

An object on labeled hold cannot be deleted or have its metadata modified until all holds (labeled and unlabeled) are explicitly released. You can use either the S3 compatible API or REST API to place one or more labeled holds on an object or release an object from labeled hold.

S3 Object Lock does not support labeled hold.
Privileged delete
Privileged delete enables you to delete objects even if they are under retention. However, you cannot use privileged delete operations to delete objects that are on hold or labeled hold, regardless of the retention settings of those objects.
S3 Object Lock does not support privileged delete. However, with bypass governance mode in S3 Object Lock, you can perform operations such as deleting an object version, shortening the retention time of object versions that are locked in governance mode. To do this, you need to include the x-amz-bypass-governance-retention:true header in your request.
Retention periods
The retention period for an object is the length of time the object must remain in the bucket. A retention period can be a specific length of time, infinite time, or no time, in which case the object can be deleted at any time.
When the retention period for an object expires, the object becomes deletable.
Normally, if you try to delete an object that is under retention, HCP prevents you from doing so.
S3 Object Lock supports retention periods.
Retention classes
A retention class is a named retention setting. Retention classes let you manage object retention consistently by specifying how long the object must remain in the repository. Retention classes cannot be created using the S3 compatible API.
S3 Object Lock does not support retention classes.
Automatic deletion
A bucket can be configured to automatically delete objects after their retention periods expire. For an object to be deleted automatically:
  • In HCP retention mode, a specified retention period must expire. Objects with Deletion Allowed (0) or Initial Unspecified (-2) retention settings are not automatically deleted.
  • If the object is in an HCP retention class, the class must have automatic deletion enabled.
Automatic deletion cannot be configured using the S3 compatible API.
S3 Object Lock supports automatic deletion.