atime synchronization with retention

Content Platform Tenant Management Help

Version
9.7.x
File Size
4269 KB
Audience
anonymous
Part Number
MK-95HCPH002-19

Some file systems support the use of the POSIX atime attribute to set retention. To take advantage of this existing mechanism, HCP gives you the option of synchronizing atime values with HCP retention settings. When these properties are synchronized, changing one for an object causes an equivalent change in the other.

The tenant administrator enables or disables atime synchronization for a namespace. While atime synchronization is enabled, atime values are automatically synchronized with retention settings for objects subsequently added to the namespace except in these cases:

  • The object is added through NFS with an initial retention setting of Deletion Allowed.
  • The object is added through any protocol with an initial retention setting that is either Initial Unspecified or a retention class.

In these cases, the atime value of an object is set to the time the object is stored.

For any given object, if atime synchronization was not enabled automatically, you can enable it manually.

While atime synchronization is enabled for a namespace, the rules for changing retention settings also apply to changing atime values. You cannot use atime to shorten a retention period, nor can you use it to specify a retention period if the current setting is Deletion Prohibited. Additionally, you cannot change the atime value if the object is on hold.

atime synchronization does not work with objects in retention classes. When you assign an object to a retention class, the atime value for the object does not change, even if the atime value had previously been synchronized with the retention setting. Triggering atime synchronization for an object in a retention class has no effect.

atime synchronization is enabled on a per-namespace basis. To find out whether it’s enabled for the namespace you’re using, contact your tenant administrator.

Note: With atime synchronization enabled, you cannot rename empty directories. This includes any directories you create using CIFS, which, by default, are named New Folder.