Selecting or deselecting namespaces for replication

Content Platform Tenant Management Help

Version
9.7.x
File Size
4269 KB
Audience
anonymous
Part Number
MK-95HCPH002-19

On the Replication page, at any time, you can change which namespaces are replicated with the tenant and, if allowed by the tenant configuration, specify whether those namespaces allow erasure coding. If you disable replication for a namespace that was already being replicated, replication of that namespace stops. If you subsequently enable replication for that namespace again, replication of the namespace starts again from where it stopped.

When you reenable replication of a namespace that has already been replicated, all operations that occurred in that namespace while replication was not happening, including object deletions, are replicated to the other system. During this replication, conflicts can occur between changes made on different systems while the namespace was not being replicated.

If you disable replication for a namespace that has already been replicated and then delete the namespace on one or more systems, the namespace deletions are not replicated. If you then reenable replication for that namespace and the namespace still exists on one or more systems, the namespace is replicated back to the systems where you deleted it.

You can also enable or disable replication for a namespace and specify whether the namespace allows erasure coding on the namespace Replication panel.

Depending on the current status of replication, if the tenant is being replicated, you may not be able to disable replication for namespaces that are being replicated.

Allowing erasure coding for a namespace that has shredding enabled as the default for new objects can significantly increase the load on all systems in the replication topology.

Important: Disabling replication for a namespace that has already been replicated may cause object data in that namespace to become inaccessible on one or more systems in the replication topology.
  1. Click Namespace Selection for Replication.
    The Namespace Replication Selection section lists all the tenant's namespaces. For each namespace, the section shows whether the namespace is cloud optimized.
    The Namespace Replication Selection section has a column in which you can select or deselect namespaces for replication. If you can specify whether namespaces allow erasure coding, this section also has a column in which you can allow or disallow erasure coding for namespaces.
  2. In the Namespace Replication Selection section:
    • To enable or disable replication for a namespace, select or deselect the namespace in the Replication column.
    • To enable or disable replication for all namespaces at the same time, select or deselect the Replication column heading.

      When you deselect Replication for a namespace, Allow Erasure Coding is automatically deselected for that namespace.

    • To allow or disallow erasure coding for a namespace, select or deselect the namespace in the Allow Erasure Coding column. This option is available only for cloud-optimized namespaces.
    • To allow or disallow erasure coding for all cloud-optimized namespaces at the same time, select or deselect the Replication column heading.

      When you select Allow Erasure Coding for a namespace, Replication is automatically selected for that namespace.

      The Allow Erasure Coding column is present only if you're allowed to choose whether namespaces allow erasure coding.

  3. Click Update Namespaces.