Namespace access protocol configuration

Content Platform Tenant Management Help

File Size
4269 KB
Part Number

Users and applications have access to the content stored in namespaces through these industry-standard protocols: REST, S3 compatible API, WebDAV, CIFS, NFS, and SMTP. By default, when a namespace is created, the REST API is enabled. The other protocols are initially disabled. For any namespace access to occur, at least one protocol must be enabled.

For enhanced security, keep unused namespace access protocols disabled.

When you enable a namespace access protocol, you also need to configure it. Each protocol, with the exception of the REST, S3 compatible, and WebDAV protocols, has its own set of configuration options. REST, the S3 compatible API, and WebDAV share a set of these options. Some configuration options are common to multiple protocols; others are protocol specific.

Note: If your system administrator has configured new namespaces to be optimized for cloud protocols only, you cannot configure new namespaces to use CIFS, NFS, WebDAV or SMTP without first disabling cloud optimization for the namespace. If you have already begun ingesting data in the namespace, you cannot disable cloud optimization. Similarly, NFS, CIFS, and WebDAV cannot be enabled if the namespace assigned to a service plan has HCP S Series Nodes set as the ingest tier. To allow enabling of CIFS, NFS, WebDAV, or SMTP, see the topic Modifying a service plan in the Administering HCP online help and select Primary Running as the ingest tier for the service plan to which the namespace is assigned.

For namespaces configured with S3 Object Lock, only the S3 gateway protocol is supported.