Configuring S3 Object Lock

Content Platform Tenant Management Help

Version
9.7.x
File Size
4269 KB
Audience
anonymous
Part Number
MK-95HCPH002-19

Configuring an S3 Object Lock namespace allows you to apply retention periods or legal holds to your objects, ensuring that they remain locked for a specified period of time.

  • To view the S3 Object Lock settings for a namespace, you need the monitor, administrator, or compliance role.
  • To change the default S3 Object Lock settings for a namespace, you need the administrator role.
  • To configure S3 Object Lock, you must enable it when you create the namespace. For more information about enabling S3 Object Lock, see Creating a namespace.
  • You must enable versioning at the tenant level.
  1. In the top-level menu of the Tenant Management Console, click Namespaces.
  2. In the list of namespaces, click the name of the namespace you want.
  3. In the row of tabs below the namespace name, click Policies.
  4. On the left side of the Policies panel, click Retention.
  5. In the Default Retention section in the Retention pane:
    1. Select Enabled to enable Default Retention.
    2. Select Disabled to disable Default Retention.
      The default retention mode determines the level of protection applied to objects placed in the namespace. When you create a new namespace with S3 Object Lock enabled, you can choose to configure a default retention mode. If you disable default retention, objects will not have an active retention period and can be deleted.
  6. In the Default Retention Mode section in the Retention pane:
    1. Select Governance to enable governance mode.

      In S3 Object Lock governance mode, users with the necessary permissions can change the retention settings or delete objects.

    2. Select Compliance to enable compliance mode.
      In compliance mode, users and administrators cannot delete objects or modify the retention settings to reduce or remove retention time. However, users and administrators can extend the retention time as needed.
    3. In the Default Retention Period field, type the number of days or years that you want to retain the object.
      The minimum duration is 1 day from the current date and the maximum duration is 100 years. If you choose compliance mode, neither users nor administrators can change retention settings or delete objects..
  7. Click Update Settings.