Changing the default shred setting

Content Platform Tenant Management Help

Version
9.7.x
File Size
4269 KB
Audience
anonymous
Part Number
MK-95HCPH002-19

When you create a namespace, its default shred setting is not to shred. Once the namespace exists, you can change this setting at any time.

Once an object is marked for shredding, its shred setting cannot be changed.

Note: If HCP is allowed to use erasure coding to implement replication of a namespace, setting the default shred setting to shred for that namespace can significantly increase the load on all systems in the replication topology.
  • To view the default shred setting for a namespace, you need the monitor, administrator, or compliance role.
  • To change the default shred setting for a namespace, you need the compliance role.
  1. In the top-level menu of the Tenant Management Console, click Namespaces.
  2. In the list of namespaces, click the name of the namespace you want.
  3. In the row of tabs below the namespace name, click Policies.
  4. On the left side of the Policies panel, click Shredding.
  5. In the Shredding panel:.
    • To enable secure deletion, select Shred on delete.
    • To disable secure deletion, deselect Shred on delete .
  6. Click Update Settings.